Previous Directors


Dr. M.S. Krishnan

(October 1961-March 1964)

Maharajapuram Seetaraman Krishnan (born on 24th august 1898), awardee of the prestigeous Padma Bhushan from Government of India, was the moving force behind the beginning of NGRI, was the Director of the Institute during 1961-1964.


Dr.Hari Narain

(April 1964-March 1983)

Born on 21st September 1922, earned his B. Sc. (Hons), M. Sc. (Physics) and D. Phil at Allahabad University (1950) under supervision of Professor K. S. Krishnan., PhD (Geophysics) at Sydney University (1954). Superintending Geophysicist, Oil and Natural Gas commission (ONGC), Dehra Dun (1957-62) ;


Prof. V.K. Gaur

(April 1983-September 1989)

Vinod K Gaur Distinguished Professor Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore-560 034 Also Adjunct Professor Indian Institute of Science, Education and Research (IISER), Kolkata Vinod Gaur studied Geophysics at Banaras University and at Imperial College where he discovered the hitherto unsuspected ‘host rock effect’ in geo-electromagnetics.


Prof. D. Guptasarma

(October 1989-June 1992)

Dharmajit Guptasarma was born on 16 July, 1932, in Serajgunj, Dt. Pabna (now in Bangladesh). He obtained BSc with Physics Honours in 1950, and MSc in Radiophysics & Electronics in 1952, from Calcutta University, securing first rank in the university in both. He was awarded a Scientific Manpower Committee research fellowship of the Govt. of India,


Dr. Harsh K. Gupta

(July 1992-February 2001)

Padmashri Dr. Harsh Gupta (born in 1942) served as the Director of the National Geophysical Research Institute (NGRI) Hyderabad for nearly a decade from 1992. Under his stewardship, NGRI rose to be the top geosciences research institute in India. His visionary leadership led NGRI to use the pool of basic research capabilities to address the country’s needs in hydrocarbons,


Dr. V.P. Dimri

(October 2001-February 2010)

Dr. Vijay Prasad Dimri served as the Director of the Institute from October 2001 to February 2010. Under his leadership, NGRI's achievements were significant in geosciences. NGRI is ranked No.1 in the research output among the geosciences institutions in the country (June 2006, NISCAIR, New Delhi).


Prof. Mrinal Kanti Sen

(January 2012-January 2014)

Prof. Mrinal K. Sen received B.Sc and M.Sc degrees from the Indian School of Mines and Ph.D from the University of Hawaii at Manoa. Prior to joining graduate school, Prof. Sen worked in the oil industry as an exploration geophysicist. After spending two years working on seismic hazard estimation in Los Angeles Basin in Pasadena, California,


Dr. V.M Tiwari

(July 2016- November 2022)

Dr. Virendra M. Tiwari obtained his post-graduate degree in Geophysics from Banaras Hindu University (BHU), Varanasi. He took up a scientific career at CSIR-National Geophysical Research Institute (CSIR-NGRI), after receiving a Ph.D. in Geophysics from NGRI-BHU. He has worked as a Post-Doctoral Researcher at the IPGP, Paris, France, and LAGOS-CNES, Toulouse, France,